Stitch Fix Review (and My 5 Stitch Fix Tips!)

Stitch Fix Reviews and 5 Secret Stitch Fix Tips: try out Stitch Fix for yourself right over HERE!

September 2019 Stitch Fix Review

Y'all. I got this funStitch Fix box earlier this week but completely forgot to take decent pictures as I went!

In case you're curious though I did do it on Facebook Live, so you can watch me try everything on right over HERE. 

Here's what they sent, and what I think I'm keeping after mulling that over for a few days . . .

Rodney Novelty D'Orsay Flat $100, $80 if I kept the whole box (Poshmark has a few sizes for $40, so if you're looking for a steal on these I think this is it!) 

I honestly love these shoes, and since I'm not a shoe girl and never buy fancy shoes these would be great to have in my wardrobe. They're a little too big though so I'm returning and asking for the bigger size ~ I kept my shoes from Stitch Fix last month and have already worn them a ton, so I'm thankful for these!

Romola Popover Top $78, $62.40 if I kept the whole box

I really do love this one on (especially with those shoes!) but the price is steep. I'm actually going to try it on one more time tomorrow before church (when I'm looking all fancy) 🙂 and then will decide.

Carrie Distressed Girlfriend Jean $68, $54.40 if I kept the whole box

really liked the fit on these, but I don't like the holes up so high on one leg, or that the other holes fit at the knee (those are just waiting to tear open for me when I'm working around the house!) Definitely sending these back

Ansell Scoop Neck Dolman Knit Top $48, $36 if I kept the whole box

Definitely sending back ~ I didn't love the color and it wasn't special enough to keep

Nova Crochet Detail Tunic $48, $36 if I kept the whole box

I actually got this one in last month's box and loved it, until I actually washed it on hot with my regular clothes (it was hand wash only!) I loved it so much that I asked for another one, but I think I may be able to re-stretch it out (someone mentioned taking it to my dry cleaner and I think I may try that too)

 

So, for sure this month I'm using my $25 styling fee credit towards those shoes (I think they're so cute!) and I'm going to think on that grey blouse one more day before deciding for sure. 🙂 

 

If you're struggling with feeling like you know how to put yourself together, Stitch Fix might just be a great option for you IF YOU HAVE the self-control to send back whatever doesn't work for you. (They do make that part easy thank heavens!)

For today, I'm thankful my Stitch Fix box makes shopping and keeping up with clothes easier for me, and am so glad that most months I find a few things worth keeping!

In case you're curious, here's how Stitch Fix Works:

  • Sign up HERE
  • In the comments section, be sure to attach a link to a few pins you like on Pinterest (you can see my Pinterest Style Board HERE)
  • Your box will come when you schedule it
  • If you keep your entire box you’ll save 25% off the entire purchase
  • Invite friends on Facebook or via email (or even text messages) to sign up through you and you’ll get $25 in free referral credit ~ love that!

If you'd like to try out Stitch Fix too, head on over HERE. I'd love to hear your thoughts on Stitch Fix too!

August 2020 Stitch Fix Review

Here's a peek at what came in my Stitch Fix Box this month!

Good gravy. I love this one.

It is pricey.

 

It would not be worth it if the money wasn't in our budget.

And it would soooooo not be worth it if I liked to shop at all (and had time to shop. Whew!)

But since I don't have time to shop, and I love what they picked for me this month . . . I'm totally keeping it all.

And I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

(The only thing I'm not a big fan of are these shorts. I wouldn't pick hot pink, um, eeeevvvver, but they would be pretty cute in the summertime and I may be able to sell them in a Stitch Fix sale group)!

 

Here's what I got from Stitch Fix this month . . .

  • Lorraine Short $54 – $40.50 if I keep the whole box
  • Nally Leather Flat $79 – $59 if I keep the whole box
  • Emelina Distressed Frayed Hem Boyfriend jean $88 ~ $66 if I keep the whole box
  • Ava Button Down Top $64 – $48 if I keep the whole box
  • Nova Crochet Detail Tunic $48 – $36 if I keep the whole box

Total after 25% off discount (because I'm keeping the whole box) $249.75 o5 or $50 per piece.

 

Ouch.

 

I'm not going to lie . . . this is a lot. And in our early days of penny pinching I would never-ever-never have paid this, but right now . . . I work almost all the time (working on that though!) have very little time to shop, and truly don't  know how to style myself.

 

BUT.

 

We spend $100 on groceries each week for our family of 4 (+ college son who comes home occasionally). We don't eat out. I don't shop at all except for what comes in Stitch Fix and every once in awhile a Jane order.

 

So for me right now, this is worth it. 

 

But it sure wouldn't have been a few years ago when our finances just weren't where they are today.

 

I do appreciate the service Stitch Fix provides me, but I know it is a service. I'm not paying for clothes when I order from Stitch Fix, I'm paying for clothes delivered that work great on me.

 

And at least for today in the season I'm in, that's worth it for me.

 

July 2019 Stitch Fix Review

Here's a peek at what came in my Stitch Fix Box this month!

I debated keeping it all (a LOT), but honestly the jeans didn't fit exactly the way I wanted them to, I don't need the earrings, and the tops weren't quite perfect.

 

I did love this one however . . .

so I used my $25 Stitch Fix Styling Credit to keep it.

 

This has been a crazy month (I haven't shared a whole lot about this, but my dad passed away last week and I've been racing to keep my life together around here.) So I sent my box back without checking the prices on everything but believe the box was right around $190 for everything.

 

While I thought everything was cute they didn't fit just right, so I sent it back quickly just to have one more thing marked off my to-do list this month!

I will say I have loved (like, LOVED), the shorts and top that I kept from my June box, and have worn those shorts almost every other day this summer. In fact, just last week I wore the shorts with my family on the beach (along with a Stitch Fix super-cute-top that I kept last summer), and I felt so cute and pulled together without having to head out to the store.

 

June 2019 Stitch Fix Review

Here's what was in my Stitch Fix Review Box this month!

Joel Henley Top $40 ($30 if I keep the entire box)

My favorite item this month!

 

Finnegan Roll Cuff Shorts $58 ($43.50 if I keep the entire box)

I never where shorts . . . and wish these were a little bit longer but I might keep them (I need to try them on one more time tonight before deciding for sure!)

Macee Slider Bracelet Set $28 ($21 if I keep the whole box)

I really do love this bracelet ~ I normally wouldn't spend that much for a bracelet but if I keep everything else I know I'll love having it in my jewelry box. (I don't have much jewelry, so this would be a welcome addition to what little I do have!)

 

Adylee Mixed Material Top $40 ($30 if I keep the whole box)

I really do like this one too ~ just wish it wasn't quite as wrinkly feeling?(I'm afraid it'll always feel a little wrinkly and I hate ironing. Eek!)

Emory Park Short Sleeve Knit Top $34 ($25.50 if I keep the whole box)

I hate this one . . . like do not like it even one single bit. I never like this top of cut on any size or shape and know I will never wear it, so unless one of my girls just adore it, it's going back!

 

Honestly?

 

My last Stitch Fix box was a complete dud and I'd seriously considered stopping Stitch Fix forever (but this one has renewed my hope!) 

 

But, even if it would save me money I really don't want to keep things I don't just adore. I do have some credit so keeping the entire box would only be $112.55 for me or $22 each (and I do have a few folks in mine who might just love that criss-cross top.) 🙂

BUT. 

 

To keep everything except the bracelet and criss cross top will still cost me $99.70. Since I like the bracelet, I'm tempted to keep it all.

Hmph! 

 

Here's the thing that I've found with Stitch Fix after doing it for a few years: if you're not really in love with it . . . SEND IT BACK FAST. I'm pretty well in love with the Joel Henley Top ~ the rest I really do like, so I'm going to give them all one more chance to try on tonight when I'm not in a hurry ~ then I'lll make a final decision tomorrow.

 

(Keeping that top alone will be free for me thanks to my Stitch Fix Credit. And remember, if you get a Stitch Fix box there's a $20 styling fee that works towards anyone item ~ so if you like just one thing in the box it's usually worth it to hold onto that one item!)

 

That makes at least one thing an easy choice, but the rest is up for decisions.

April 2019 Stitch Fix Review

Here's what was in my Stitch Fix Review Box this month!

Tinsel pink and blue flannel top $38 or $28.50 if I keep the whole box

Bay to Baubles Silver Earrings – $22 or $16.75 if I keep the whole box

Market & Spruce Jacket $88 or $66 if I kept the whole box

Democracy Jeans $68 or $51 if I keep the whole box

Striped Arnold Raglan Top $38 or $28.50 if I keep the whole box

Stitch Fix Outfits Decision Time….

So if I keep everything from Stitch Fix this month, I'll pay $199.50, and I'm lucky enough to have enough Stitch Fix credit to cover the entire box. 

 

Not gonna lie, I'm keeping it all.

 

 

That makes each item $40 per piece, and while I wouldn't spend that on the earrings or probably tops for sure, I totally would on the jeans and jacket, and the fact that they sized me right up and delivered exactly a few pieces I can use that fit perfectly without me every stepping into a dressing room is pretty fantastic to me.

 

As I shared in the video, I would never ever never have done tried out Stitch Fix in our early penny pinching days.

 

At that point I shopped Walmart and Goodwill, wore hand-me-downs and didn't splurge on clothes all that often.

 

But as a busy working mom having someone shop for me (and style me!) is an incredible gift, and for this season it's totally worth it to me.

 

So, there you have it ~ I'm keeping it all this month and am wearing these cozy jeans and flannel even as I type from this side of the screen. 🙂

How Stitch Fix Works:

  • Sign up HERE
  • In the comments section, be sure to attach a link to a few pins you like on Pinterest (you can see my Pinterest Style Board HERE)
  • Your box will come when you schedule it
  • If you keep your entire box you’ll save 25% off the entire purchase
  • Invite friends on Facebook or via email (or even text messages) to sign up through you and you’ll get $25 in free referral credit ~ love that!

If you'd like to try out Stitch Fix too, head on over HERE. I'd love to hear your thoughts on Stitch Fix too!

 

February 2019 Stitch Fix Review

Here's what I got in my Stitch Fix Box this month! 

Classic Alargata Toms Shearling Lined Suede Flats $70 – $52.50 if I keep the whole box


Micki Stretch Fleece Graphic Top $58 – $43.50 if I keep the whole box

Corinna Brushed Dolman Knit Top $38 – $28.50 if I keep the whole box

Gabrielle Pre Layered Necklace $28 – $21.00 if I keep the whole box

Kallon 1 Pocket Hooded Knit Top $38 – $28.50 if I keep the whole box

I honestly haven't quite decided what to do as far as keeping these. Ugh!

Update: I ended up keeping the Toms and the black sweatshirt. I love them both!

If I keep the whole box my cost would be $174 – AND to make life a wee bit sweeter, I have $250 in Stitch Fix credit (they sent it to me as a gift ~ I was so thankful!)

 

$174 split five ways is $34.80 per item and really not all that awful to have someone shop for me. I normally wouldn't consider it but I hardly have any more casual (trendy!) things and we're coming up on soccer and track season for my girls here in Ohio. It would be so nice to have a few things that felt cozy but still cute . . . so I'm considering keeping the box (and would love to hear your thoughts!)

 

And while I would never normally pay that much for those Toms, a sweet girl that I used to have in my youth group messaged me on Instagram after seeing mine and said they were her favorite pair of shoes of all time ~ until they got stained (they're suede and need to be sprayed if I'm going to keep them.) That alone was pretty convincing, so I'm leaning towards keeping the box.

 

Um, what would you do?  Please leave a comment to let me know (and realize I totally get that I'm paying for convenience – but I have no time to shop and do like feeling a little pulled together when heading out the door!)

January 2019 Stitch Fix Review

Here's what I got in my Stitch Fix Box this month! 

Sabrina Scarf $38 (if I keep everything in the box, $28.50)

 

Daniela Distressed Boyfriend Jeans $58 (if I keep everything in the box, $43.50)

Hayley Button Down Top $68 (if I keep everything in the box, $51) ~ honestly, I LOVE this one because it feels amazing ~ it's super light weight and just lays well but $51 is a LOT OF MOOLAH for a top for me even after the 25% off. Ugh!

Josslyn Cotton Blend V Neck Pull Over $68  (if I keep everything in the box, $51)

 

Nouri Textured Cardigan $48  (if I keep everything in the box, $36)

The two things I LOVE from the box are the jeans and the flannel. The rest of it I can take or leave, but since you save 25% on everything if you keep the entire box, I'm tempted to consider it!

 

So my plan is to let my girls look it over tonight when they get home (they'd look great in the sweaters I think!) and if they love them I might keep the entire box. If not…. I might send it all back (to pay $126 for just the top and jeans feels way too high to me, and if I'm going to have to go shop anyways I think I might be able to find those for less!)

 

BUT, I really do feel pretty cute in the whole box ~ I'm just not sure if I need any of it. Honestly, if I didn't do Facebook Live every day (I'm always struggling with what to wear!) and have a few conferences coming up I wouldn't consider Stitch Fix at all, but for busy working women who have no time to shop Stitch Fix is an incredible gift because not only do they send you clothes, they shop for you and style you.

 

So hmph. We'll see ~ I'll let you know what the verdict is after my girls check them out tonight (I'd love to hear your thoughts too ~ leave a comment to share!) 🙂

 

How Stitch Fix Works:

  • Sign up HERE
  • In the comments section, be sure to attach a link to a few pins you like on Pinterest (you can see my Pinterest Style Board HERE)
  • Your box will come when you schedule it
  • If you keep your entire box you’ll save 25% off the entire purchase
  • Invite friends on Facebook or via email (or even text messages) to sign up through you and you’ll get $25 in free referral credit ~ love that!

If you missed my Facebook live you can watch it HERE.

 

December 2018 Stitch Fix Review

Soooo… this month my Stitch Fix Review Box was a wee bit different.

 

My husband's Christmas office party is next week, and while I have plenty of clothes in my closet right now I need a new dress to wear to the party.

 

So I let my Stitch Fix stylist know that's what I needed, and they sent me a few dresses to try as well as a coat to wear to the party too.

 

Take a peek . . .

 

 

I'm trying to decide between these two (the length on the one on the left is just a little short for me, and I'm not so sure how I feel about sleeveless dresses in the winter?) but both are great options I think (I'm planning to show them to my hubby and girls tonight to see what they think too.) 

As far as pricing goes ~ I think for four dressy dresses and a coat the totals weren't too bad. The cost would have been $284.50 for me to keep everything (but I really only need one dress ~ I bought a very similar coat at Old Navy years ago for $2 on clearance, so one dress is all I'll be keeping!)

 

So Is Stitch Fix Worth It?  (3 Reasons it may be…)

As I’ve shared before, there are 3 types of folks that I feel like need to consider a trying a Stitch Fix Box: 

  1. those who have $20 to try it out as a gamble (the $20 will go towards any item you keep) and have enough self control to say NO to things that aren’t really awesome in their box (right now they’re offering a free styling fee, so you just need enough self control to send it back if it’s not in your budget and you don’t love what you get!)
  2. moms who work outside of the home and need to feel pull together enough for work
  3. anyone who needs a decent pair of pants or jeans that fit perfectly (they have the best jeans EVER, if you struggle with finding pants Stitch Fix is worth a shot at least one time!)

 

October 2019 Stitch Fix Review

 

Not gonna lie . . . today was not my favorite Stitch Fix Box. 

 

I only kept one thing.

 

(That cute sweater above because I used my $20 styling credit towards that!)

The whole box would have cost me $136 . . .

 

but it just wasn't all that great. 🙁

So, before I even had a chance to consider things that I really wasn't in love with, I sent the things I wasn't so sure on back.

In the last year since getting Stitch Fix, this was probably my least favorite box, but I love that they make it so simple for me to try on a few new things and see how they work.

 

While Stitch Fix isn't for everyone (for sure!) for me it (normally?) is an amazing way to feel pulled together, knowing I'm paying not only for the clothing but to have someone who knows what they're doing style me too.

 

 

Stitch Fix Review and 5 Secret Stitch Fix Tips

Last month I LOVED Stitch Fix though… 

 

September 2018 Stitch Fix Review

 

lovvvvvved my Stitch Fix Box this month! 

Like, loved it. 🙂

 

 

Each month I do a live Stitch Fix Review and unboxing to show you what kinds of outfits they're putting together for me - here's what I thought this month!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stitch Fix Pricing + What I Kept

Because I'm racing against time tonight (wayyyy too much to do and never enough hours!) I'll be fast and furious about why I'm keeping allll the Stitch Fix Stuff + pricing details.

  • All five items were $167.24 after my 25% savings since I kept all 5 items.
  • That included two sweaters, a cardigan, the navy sleeveless knit top and cargo pants
  • loved those cargo pants with the denim jacket and tee shirt (I love that tee and haven't figured yet what to wear it with!)
  • love that now I have some perfect outfits for fall, and for $33 per piece I'm feeling pretty good about this one!

 

5 Secret Stitch Fix Tips

I also got this Stitch Fix question from a reader today, and goodness, I've heard it from quite a few folks so thought I'd answer it once and for all for everyone!
Here's what PPP reader Carolyn asked:
Hi Laurie! I have been following Passionate Penny Pincher now for about two months and I am loving it! As a busy mom of three and working part time I really enjoy all the tips, tricks, and encouragement, so thank you for that! I have a random question for you.. I have received two boxes from Stitch Fix and have not liked either of them! I was so excited to to get them because I also have no style and trying to shop with my three little blessings is well just kinda impossible.
So I wanted to ask you if you could share with me what style you actually chose and maybe price range because I have loved everything you have gotten! Our styles seem similar I am a plan down to earth busy mama who is ready to try to look put together after a rough year last year (went through a bilateral mastectomy and hysterectomy at the age of 35). Thank your for your smiles and encouragement! Have a blessed day!
So first, goodness Carolyn, I'm sooooo thankful for you and feel so thankful that you take time to keep up with PPP! 

Here are my 5 Stitch Fix Tips to get the BEST experience:

  1. Pin everything you love to a Pinterest board (you can follow mine here and see ideas!)
  2. Send a message to your Stitch Fix stylist and tell them to look at your Pinterest board  (you can even send them mine – ha!) 🙂
  3. Try things different ways. IT TOTALLY MAKES A DIFFERENCE that I try things on in front  of a few hundred folks on Facebook Live. 🙂 For example today, someone mentioned a way to wear the navy top a way that I would NEVER have kept (I wouldn't have kept the navy top because I didn't know to tuck it in and belt it, but it looks so stinkin' cute done the right way!) Definitely watch those Pinterest boards too for style because that helps a ton!
  4. Ask for the cheapest boxes in the settings – I definitely do that!
  5. Remember it takes a little while. My boxes get better ALL the time, and I know it's because they're till figuring me out! I always give as much feedback as I can, which definitely helps!

 

Lots of my stitch fix outfits that I've loved

 

How Stitch Fix Works:

  • Sign up HERE
  • In the comments section, be sure to attach a link to a few pins you like on Pinterest (you can see my Pinterest Style Board HERE)
  • Your box will come when you schedule it
  • If you keep your entire box you’ll save 25% off the entire purchase
  • Invite friends on Facebook or via email (or even text messages) to sign up through you and you’ll get $25 in free referral credit ~ love that!

Past Stitch Fix Reviews:

 

Print Friendly and PDF

Comments

  1. I love Stitch Fix! I’m one of the rare woman who hate shopping even if I had the time. This works out well for me and the stylist is worth the expense. Every so often I’ll get to go through various articles of clothing to say if I like something or not, I have their app so it makes it real easy. I haven’t sent anything back since my first few boxes. Everything fits perfectly! I’m addicted but had to control myself so I reduced the shipments to about four per year. If I want or need an extra shipment I just order. I did this for Christmas! So happy with their high quality product. I totally agree they have the best jeans ever! So smooth and comfortable you could sleep in them! And I never thought I’d ever wear a pair of jeans, I have several now. It’s an awesome service and worth it! The extras are great too! I’ve replaced my underwear, socks and something called a Hue which is a long tight fitting cami! So comfortable and work great with dresses or skirts! The socks are so soft! I also treated myself to a pair of pajamas, best pjs ever! My vote is for Stitch Fix!

  2. Everything is cute! And you’re right…at less than $35 per item, it isn’t bad.

  3. I tried Stitch Fix years ago and it just didn’t work for me. I think that most of the clothing looks cheap and is overpriced. And I had a terrible time with sizing – some things were tiny and some were huge. I think that I kept like three things total for three fixes and I didn’t love them.

Speak Your Mind

*